Hi Folks - Have I fu<>ed up here

Rory799

Subscriber
As a newbie, please be gentle :)
Originally, I fancied a camper for weekends away.
I did not want to spend too much as I was not sure If I would like the lifestyle.
I set myself a budget of £10,000
The vans I looked at in that price range were crap, welded up Talbots or Citroens, they were no good vans never mind campers!
I decided to look at American RV's
So here is where I am now !!!!
I have recently bought a 1998 Georgeboy Pursuit (with slide + awning), 35ft long, 6.5l diesel with 32,000 on the clock. The outside looks pretty good but the inside was "updated " by the previous owner. The mechanicals are first-class (just fitted a remote PMD +spare). Fuel economy looks good (20mpg on the long run- London to N, Scotland) Electrics are a bit of a mess - Slide out and self-leveling jacks can only work with a bit of "jiggery-pokery" :), but in a previous life, I was a motor mechanic. The van is dry and solid and did not cost me a lot of money (just under half my budget) I like the idea of wild camping for a couple of months a year, is this a suitable tool for the job. Any and all comments are welcome.

chatter

Subscriber
a couple or more of good leisure batteries (ideal are 6v golf buggy style batteries) with solar panels, and poss a deisel heater, if wild camping is your bag, a derv heater uses less electric than the rv furnace for those chilly evenings (and can be run on red derv, with seperate tank ) if you want heat and havent had loads of sunny days to fully charge what you have used from your batteries, change all lights to led lights, remember that your genny usually runs on fuel from your fuel tank and that it will not work if your fuel guage shows only a quarter of a tank it has an auto cut off so that you have fuel to get to a garage to fill up, and also check weight and be aware of licence restrictions you might have

Last edited:

Rory799

Subscriber