Flagstaff or Surveyor

chrisaxe21

Hi

Complete newbie so bear with me :)

Went to see American Caravans Direct today to look at 5th wheels. Came away almost certain I'm going to order a new travel trailer, 29 or 33 ft.

For me, they seem to do what 5th wheels do so can't really split between then other than the towing device. An expensive hitch vs a typical towbar. Need an American pickup truck but no fuss.

Also, I can't split between the Flagstaff and Surveyor models. Both I think are Forest River and seem very well made.

Any opinions or thoughts welcome

Cheers!

Chris

shovelheadrob

Subscriber
It depends what you want to do with it, a 33ft travel trailer & truck will be around 56ft overall length whereas a 33ft 5th wheel & truck will be around 49ft overall. This could make a lot of difference on access to sites if you're going to be travelling around. Forest River make most trailers of both types under various brands, quality is consistent but not always good, it will come down to the after service provided by the dealer. Either way you're going to need a decent truck as you seem to already be aware of. In the scale of things the hitch cost isn't much & shouldn't be a deciding factor, the important thing is that the layout works for your intended use.

monacosteve

Subscriber
We had 3 travel trailers on the site were I work
We rented them out for 3 years before we sold them to seasonal customers.
The most complaints we had were about how cold they get.
I have just sold all three of them as were putting lodges on the park.
Had to move them around a bit
I wouldn’t want to drive one on the road
See if you can take one out before you buy so you know for Sure

chrisaxe21

What age were they? I'm hoping these newer models are well insulated.
Would you even tow a 5th wheel or do you mean the travel trailers are sketchy / too long?

Trekkin

Never owned one so not first experience however,