Electrics on campsite

Have had to go on to campsite after four months. Electrical hookup fine first day then we set off the trip switches on the second day. We can run mains electric fine with on board generator and 2k generator but if anyone has any help would be great as annoying to not be benefiting from campsite electrics

dippingatoe

I am no expert (at all !!!) but did it trip as soon as you tried to plug in or while it was running. I find if I have things switched on before plugging in and the supply is a bit dodgy, (which I think quite a few are) then it immediately trips. But if I flick off the main fuse switch in the bus then plug in, get back inside and switch the fuse to on often seems to work ok

If it goes off mid stream so to speak then sometimes if the site is not too crowded I try in another outlet and often that works.

Just a thought - you have maybe tried that already anyway.

larryh

Subscriber
Thanks for reply we have tried what you suggest but it did not work
You are possibly drawing above the supply so need to switch off fridge or water heater to try and reduce current draw. There is a limit on how much a hook up will run without tripping.

sundowner

Subscriber
Hi and welcome
Some 240 to 110 inverters do have a tendancy to trip when first plugged in to ehu---------does not sound like your problem though.
You need to find out the rating of the EHU breaker-------then you need to work out how much power you are drawing--------I used an 'owl' on the main inlet cable to check exactly what we were using.
If you still have a problem (when using less than the breaker) try another ehu socket-----try to determine if it is tripping from excess power use or earth leakage---there is a big difference.