Absolute Beginner

Perth_Tiger

Subscriber
Hi there
I am new to the forum and also have never owned a motorhome or RV so therefore i will probably ask some stupid questions which i will apologise for in advance
I have a plan which will be a few years in the making so therefore i plenty of time to the groundwork
After taking my HGV 1 test I would like to purchase a Class A RV from the US ( new or nearly new circa $80k at todays prices ) use it for a few months over there and in Canada and then import back into the UK .
I can see myself living in it pretty much full time and travelling around Europe including the ski season .
I have a few questions to begin with and I have been having a look on RV trader but wish to narrow down the makes that i should be looking at and avoiding

Would a 30 to 34 ft RV with slideouts be suitable for most camp sites in Europe ?
Can you still use the same sites if towing a car on a trailer or should i just forget that idea ?
Which brands should i be looking at for being the best built ie having the best insulation for living in sub zero temperatures during the ski season ?
Will all brands pass the IVA or are there some which just are not worth looking at ?
On top of the purchase price what should i budget for shipping , IVA etc using a company like signature ?
I read somewhere that if you own the RV for at least 6 months you don`t pay import duty , is that correct ?

I am sure that there will be plenty more questions but i will leave it there for now . i look forward to hearing from you

regards

Rob

Merv-IOM

Subscriber
Hi Rob and welcome to the club. Our RV is 34' and we've been to 34 countries without any problems, en route or with parking/campsites. We don't tow a car but there are many on here who do and I'm sure they will be able to help.

Ours is a Winnebago journey which came with a winter pack (double glazed etc) but we avoid the cold as much as possible. Two slides but still useable with them both in.